Merlinda Elementary School

Common Core Standards

If you would like to see the state standards your child will be learning this year, click on the link below:

CALIFORNIA STATE STANDARDS

Service Desk

Please contact our district service desk if you have any technology issues. servicedesk.wcusd.net

Resources

We are committed to giving you as much information as possible in order to help support your child’s educational needs. We have listed some useful links to websites that support our curriculum as well as sites that may be useful in answering questions you may have relating to your child’s academic needs.

Thank you for your continued support in your child’s journey to learning.

SUGGESTED WEBSITES TO USE WITH CHROMEBOOKS
         
School Programs        
Achieve 3000 portal.achieve3000.com all reading comprehension  
Lexia lexiacore5.com K-6th language arts  
Brain Pop brainpop.com all multiple subjects  
         
Resources        
Common Sense Media commonsensemedia.org/website-lists parents information for parents  
Kid Sites.Com kidsites.com parents information for parents  
Words Myth wordsmyth.net all kid friendly dictionary/thesaurus  
Ask Kids askkids.com all kid friendly search engine  
         
Language Arts        
Starfall starfall.com K-2nd early reading skills  
Spelling City spellingcity.com all spelling & vocabulary  
Time for Kids timeforkids.com 2nd-6th reading current events  
Sports Illustrated sikids.com 2nd-6th sports articles  
Epic! epic.com all online books  
Highlights highlightskids.com K-3rd language arts & puzzles  
ABC Mouse abcmouse.com K-2nd multiple subjects  
         
High Interest        
ABC Ya! abcya.com all educational games  
Fun Brain funbrain.com all educational games  
Sum Dog sumdog.com all educational games  
Duolingo duolingo.com all foreign language  
Go Noodle gonoodle.com all movement & exercise  
Arcademics arcademics.com all multiple subjects  
Camp Wonderopolis campwonderopolis.com all multiple subjects  
PBS Kids pbskids.org K-2nd multiple subjects  
Fun 4 the Brain fun4thebrain.com K-3rd mutiple subjects  
         
Mathematics        
Math Playground mathplayground.com 1st-6th math games  
Cool Math 4 Kids coolmath4kids.com all math games  
Khan Academy khanacademy.com all math videos  
Multiplication multiplication.com 1st-6th mathematics  
Cool Math coolmath.com all mathematics  
         
Science & Social Studies        
Code code.org all computer science  
Nasa Kids's Club nasa.gov/kidsclub all science  
National Geographic kids.nationalgeographic.com all science articles  
Switcheroo Zoo switchzoo.com K-3rd science articles  
Kids.Gov kids.usa.gov all history/current events  
Smithsonian Museums si.edu/kids 3rd-6th multiple subjects  
         
Keyboarding Skills        
Typing Web typingweb.com all typing skills  
Nitro Type nitrotype.com all typing skills  
Kidz Type kidstype.com K-3rd typing skills  

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Resources

Mental Health and Substance Abuse

The West Covina Unified School District has partnered with Addiction Pros to provide families with mental health and substance abuse resources. We encourage you to use this search tool to find clinics and facilities near you: AddictionPros.org

Smarter Balanced Assessment

Check out this website for information on the Smarter Balanced Assessment and samples of the CAASPP Test.

Other Websites